1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

Welcome to CONFED

Its our job to get you there!

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Scheme

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship SchemeThe Commonwealth Shared Scholarships, set up by the Department for International Development (DFID) in 1986, represent a unique partnership between the United Kingdom government and UK universities.

For 2012 60 UK universities have offered to support the scholarships by contributing the stipend for the students from their own resources, or those which the university has been able to generate from elsewhere. Indeed it is the mark of UK universities’ commitment that the scheme each year receives bids for many more awards than it has the resources to fulfil.

This reflects the confidence of DFID, which provides the government funding for the scheme, that higher education and scholarships in particular have a critical role to play in influencing the development of some of the world’s poorest countries. 

To date, in excess of 2,500 students from developing Commonwealth countries such as Pakistan have been awarded Shared Scholarships. Without these awards they would not otherwise have been able to benefit from UK higher education.

Applies to:

  1. University of Northumbria (Closed)
For more details follow this link.
  1. University of Newcastle (Closed)
  2. Wales Newport (Apply by 14th May)
  3. Queens University Belfast (Closed)
  4. London Metropolitan University (Closed)
For more details and to find out which programmes are supported, please download this document or visit any of our CONFED offices at Peshawar, Islamabad, Lahore or Karachi.